Barton Hills Village, Michigan

shim image News

January 24, 2008



January 24, 2008

The first meeting of the BHV Planning Commission was called to order by BHV Zoning and Planning Administrator Randy Perry at 6:30 PM at the Village Hall.

ROLL CALL Present: Members John MacKrell, Ruthann Nichols and Laura Weingartner. Ex-officio member Will Boddie participated in the meeting by conference telephone, but was not counted for purposes of establishing a quorum and did not vote.
Absent: Member John McCabe. Others present: BHV President Adele Laporte and ZPA Randy Perry.

ADOPTION OF RULES The rules were discussed. It was moved and seconded that the Rules be accepted in the form attached. The motion carried unanimously.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS It was moved and seconded that the Commission officers be Laura Weingartner, Chair; Ruthann Nichols, Vice Chair and John MacKrell, Secretary. The motion carried unanimously. It was moved and seconded that the Commission ask BHV Deputy Clerk Jan Esch to attend meetings and record minutes. The motion carried unanimously.

SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS It was moved and seconded that the monthly meetings of the Commission be held the Thursday prior to the meetings of the BHV Board of Trustees. Commission meetings will begin at 7:30 PM and end no later than 9:00 PM; new agenda items will be added after 8:30 PM on approval of the Commission members. The motion carried unanimously.

COMMISSION WORK The work of the Commission was discussed. It was moved and seconded that the Commission authorize the President of the Board of Trustees to sign, and the Deputy Clerk to send the Notice of Intent to Plan drafted by ZPA Perry.

PROFESSIONAL PLANNER The need to hire a professional planner was discussed. It was moved and seconded to hire a professional planner. The motion carried unanimously. Potential candidates will be interviewed at the next Commission meeting.

The Commission meeting was adjourned by Chair Weingartner on a motion made, seconded and carried unanimously. The next meeting will be held on Thursday, February 7, 2008 at 7:30 PM.

Ruthann Nichols, Acting Secretary     Approved 2/7/08

Attachments: Planning Commission Rules, 2008 Meeting Schedule